5 universities, 3 countries, 1 campus

Eucor – The European Campus is a trinational alliance of five universities in the Upper Rhine, a border region between Germany, France and Switzerland:

  • University of Basel
  • University of Freiburg
  • University of Haute-Alsace
  • Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • University of Strasbourg

→ Find more about the 5 universities on the interactive map

Together, these institutions crystallise the skills of some 15,000 researchers, 13,500 doctoral candidates and 117,000 students in a region that is economically strong and research intensive in the heart of Europe. Their aim is to build a scientific space with a clearly defined profile, without walls or borders and with international outreach.

In 2015, the five universities created a dedicated legal entity in the form of a European Grouping of Territorial Cooperation (EGTC), solidifying a cooperation that dates back to 1989. In this context, the universities retain their autonomy, but can act together in a more targeted way under the name “Eucor – The European Campus”. As the first EGTC carried exclusively by universities, Eucor – The European Campus is a model project, unique in the European research area.

Watch our video about student mobility


Aurelle Garnier
Coordinator at the University of Strasbourg
+33 (0)3 68 85 11 74

Dr. Joern Pütz
Delegated vice-president for Franco-German relations
Vice-president Eucor – The European Campus
+33 (0)6 33 61 00 83


Important information